Hello dear monster. (trigger warning)


Hello stranger,

remember me?

what has been seen cannot be unseen

Memories should be a gift,

just wish I could return what you left me with,

the lightest of touches makes me shudder within,

like shards of glass scraping under my skin.

The breath of nightmares passing over my flesh,

no more peace,

no more smiles,

no more rest.

Hello demon,

I hope you despise what I’ve become,

you wanted a cowering victim,

but instead I just got strong.

Oh my precious monster,

how I hate you,

the harm you did,

I can never undo.

I’ve been expecting your visit,

but I’m no victim anymore,

hello my dear monster,

I’ve sharpened my claws.

You ask me to become you,

that I’ll never do,

the claws that you gave me ,

I’ll turn them on you

4 Comments

  1. June 21, 2012 at 12:41 am

    That’s a nice post.

  2. Richard Jones said,

    October 14, 2012 at 6:35 pm

    this is a life changing post for me i cried yours is only the second voice that speaks to my heart and says in spite of vile and terrible things i made happen i am not a monster just a human being faced with impossible choices.Months at the priory other treatment and finally the first voice a very old man in a crisp white shirt who once i told him all looked straight into my eyes and slowly rolled up his sleeve the blue numbers so faded by time but their meaning never to be forgotten. he simply said in the camps we all did what we must.

  3. October 14, 2012 at 6:40 pm

    glad it reached somebody, the reasons for uis feeling this way may be different but I’m glad it reached your heart , thank you.

  4. October 14, 2012 at 6:53 pm

    and I hope you find ways to find peace with yourself one day, I truly do.


Leave a Reply

